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CITATION ORDER

Douglas B. Ptolemy Citation No. CT-2013- \$44
P.O Box 8967 License No. CPA 27534
Calabasas, CA 91372

The California Board of Accountancy (CBA) conducted an investigation and is issuing this
citation pursuant to Business and Professions Code, Sections 125.9 and 5100, and Title
16, California Code of Regulations, Sections 95 — 95.6.

This citation details each violation charged and the order of correction where appilcable It
is the licensee’s responsibility to read the entire citation.

Unless contested, this citation shall become a final order of the CBA on May 17, 2013; the
Order of Correction is due on or before May 17, 2013; and the administrative fine totaling
$750 is due on or before May 17, 2013.

The licensee is responsible for notifying the CBA when correction is made. Proof of
correction must be received at the above address no later than five (5) working days after
the correction due date.

Payment of the administrative fine should be made to the CBA by Cashier's Check or
Money Order. Please include the citation number on the payment and on all
correspondence.

Failure to respond to this citation ma esult in disciplinary action against the

license. .
ilefo0s— rUﬁPIU/M/\
Date! Patti Bowers”™ ~—" —~
Executive Officer
CALIFORNIA BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
PB:sc

Attachments: Statemént to Cited Licensee
. Notice of Appeal
Government Code Sections 11507.5, 11507.6, and 11507.7


http:http://Www.cba.ca.gov

ltem No. 1

Section(s)
Violated:

Description
of Violation:

Order of
Abatement:

Order of
Correction:

Time to
Correct:

Administrative
Fine:

CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
DIVISION 1. Board of Accountancy Regulations
ARTICLE 12. Continuing Education Rules

SECTION 87. Basic Requirements.

(b) A licensee renewing a license in an active status after

December 31, 2009 shall complete four hours of the 80 hours of
continuing education required pursuant to subsection (a) in course
subject matter specified pertaining to the following: a review of
nationally recognized codes of conduct emphasizing how the codes
relate to professional responsibilities; case-based instruction focusing
on real-life situational learning; ethical dilemmas facing the accounting
profession; or business ethics, ethical sensitivity, and consumer
expectations. Courses must be a minimum of one hour as described in
Section 88.2.

Douglas B. Ptolemy submitted a license renewal application for the
period that ended July 31, 2011, indicating active status with
continuing education (CE) hours, including four hours of ethics CE. A
review of the CE hours submitted revealed Mr. Ptolemy only
completed two hours of the required four hours of ethics CE.

Comply with all CBA statutes and regulations.
o Pay the administrative fine as set forth in the citation.
e Submit certificates of completion for two hours of ethics CE.

30 days / By May 17, 2013

- $250



Item No. 2

Section(s) ' CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
Violated: TITLE 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
DIVISION 1. Board of Accountancy Regulations
- ARTICLE 9. Rules of Professional Conduct

SECTION 52. Response to Board Inquiry.

(a) A licensee shall respond to any inquiry by the Board or its
appointed representatives within 30 days. The response shall include
making available all files, working papers and other documents

requested.

Description Douglas B. Ptolemy was sent deficiency letters dated
of Violation: January 30, 2012, April 6, 2012, and July 6, 2012. To date,

: Mr. Ptolemy has not responded with the requested documentation.
Order of Comply with all CBA statutes and regulations.
Abatement:
Order of ¢ Pay the administrative fine as set forth in the citation.
Correction: e Submit the required documentation as requested in deficiency

letters dated January 30, 2012, April 6, 2012, and July 6, 2012.

Time to 30 days / By May 17, 2013
Correct: '

Administrative $250
Fine:



[tem No. 3

Section(s)
Violated:

Description

of Violation:

Order of
Abatement:

Order of
Correction:

Time to
Correct:

Administrative

Fine:

CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
DIVISION 1. Board of Accountancy Regulations
ARTICLE 1. General

SECTION 3. Notification of Change of Address.

(a) Address Notification -Individual Licensees

(1) Each licensee shall notify the Board of any change in his or her
address of record within 30 days after the change. The address of
record is public information. If the address of record is a post office box
or mail drop, the change of address notification shall include the street
address of either the licensee's primary place of employment or his or
her residence. '

(2) For purposes of this section, "licensee" includes any holder of an
active, inactive, suspended, or expired certified public accountant
license or public accountant license issued by the Board which is not
canceled or revoked. :

(3) All notifications required under this subsection shall be in writing
and shall be signed by a licensed partner or licensed shareholder of
the firm.

Douglas B. Ptolemy has failed to updaté his address of record with the
California Board of Accountancy (CBA) within the required 30 days of
the change.

Comply with all CBA statutes and regulations.

e Pay the administrative fine as set forth in the citation.
o Complete the enclosed address change form and return to the
CBA. :

30 days / By May 17, 2013

$250
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