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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - STATE AND CONSUMER SE( }S AGENCY ( X GOVERNOR EDMUND G, BROWN JR.

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
' » A CALIFORNIA BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
»Y 2000 EVERGREEN STREET, SUITE 250
SACRAMENTO, CA 95815-3832
SALITORNIA BOAERD or ' TELEPHONE: (916) 263-3680

A A FACSIMILE: (916) 263-3675
: CCO UNTANCY WEB ADDRESS: htfp.//www.cba.ca.gov

CITATION ORDER

Simon C. Wong Citation No. CT-2013-51
3918 Fairfax Way License No. CPA 34148
San Francisco, CA 94080 :

The California Board of Accountancy (CBA) is issuing this citation pursuant to Business
and Professions Code, Sections 125.9 and 5100, and Title 16, California Code of
Regulations, Sections 95 — 95.6.

This citation details each violation charged and the order of correction where applicable. It
is the licensee’s responsibility to read the entire citation.

Unless contested, this citation shall become a final order of the CBA on January 11, 2013;
the Order of Correction is due on or before January 11, 2013; and the administrative fine
totaling $1000 is due on or before January 11, 2013.

- The licensee is responsible for hotifying the CBA when correction is made. Proof of
correction must be received at the above address no later than five (5) working days after
the correction due date. ‘

Payment of the administrative fine should be made to the CBA by Cashier's Check or
Money Order. Please include the citation number on the payment and on all
correspondence.

Failure to respond to this citation may result in disciplinéry action against the
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ate Patfi Bowérs
Executive Officer
CALIFORNIA BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

PB:SC
Attachments: Statement to Cited Licensee

Notice of Appeal
Government Code Sections 11507.5, 11507.6, and 11507.7
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Item No. 1

Section(s)
Violated:

Description
of Violation:

Order of
Abatement:

Order of
Correction:

Time to
. Correct:

Administrative
Fine:
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CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 16. Professjonal and Vocational Regulations
DIVISION 1. Board of Accountancy Regulations
ARTICLE 12. Continuing Education Rules

SECTION 87. Basic Requirements.

(b) A licensee renewing a license in an active status after

December 31, 2009 shall complete four hours of the 80 hours of
continuing education required pursuant to subsection (a) in course
subject matter specified pertaining to the following: a review of
nationally recognized codes of conduct emphasizing how the codes
relate to professional responsibilities; case-based instruction focusing
on real-life situational learning; ethical dilemmas facing the accounting
profession; or business ethics, ethical sensitivity, and consumer
expectations. Courses must be a minimum of one hour as described in
Section 88.2.

For the license renewal period ending January 31, 2012,

Mr. Wong is deficient qualifying continuing education (CE) for

4 hours of ethics.

Comply with all CBA statutes and regulations.

e Submit certificates of completion for 4 hours of ethics CE, as
requested in deficiency letters dated May 31, 2012 and

July 27, 2012 (copies enclosed).
e Pay the administrative fine as set forth in the citation.

30 days / By January 11, 2013

$250
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Abatement:
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Time to
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Fine;
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CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
DIVISION 1. Board of Accountancy Regulations
ARTICLE 12. Continuing Education Rules

SECTION 87. Basic Requirements.

(d) A licensee who engages in planning, directing, performing
substantial portions of the work, or reporting on an audit, review,
compilation, or attestation service, shall complete 24 hours of the 80
hours of continuing education required pursuant to subsection (a) in
the course subject matter pertaining to financial statement preparation
and/or reporting (whether such statements are prepared on the basis
of generally accepted accounting principles or other comprehensive
bases of accounting), auditing, reviews, compilations, industry
accounting, attestation services, or assurance services. This
continuing education shall be completed in the same two-year license
renewal period as the report is issued. If no report is issued because
the financial statements are not intended for use by third parties, the
continuing education shall be completed in the same two-year license
renewal period as the financial statements are submitted to the client.

For the license renewal period ending January 31, 2012,

Mr. Wong is deficient qualifying continuing education (CE) for
8 hours of accounting and auditing (A&A).

Comply with all CBA statutes and regulations.

e Submit certificates of completion for 8 hours of A&A CE, as
~ requested in deficiency letters dated May 31, 2012 and

July 27, 2012 (copies enclosed). ‘
e Pay the administrative fine as set forth in the citation.

30 days / By January 11, 2013

$250
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CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
DIVISION 1. Board of Accountancy Regulations
ARTICLE 12. Continuing Education Rules

SECTION 87. Basic Requirements,

(e) A licensee who must complete continuing education pursuant to
subsections (c) and/or (d) of this section shall also complete an
additional eight hours of continuing education specifically related to the
detection and/or reporting of fraud in financial statements. This
continuing education shall be part of the 80 hours of continuing
education required by subsection (a), but shall not be part of the
continuing education required by subsections (c) or (d).

For the license renewal period ending January 31, 2012,
Mr. Wong is deficient qualifying CE for 8 hours of fraud.

Comply with all CBA statutes and regulations.

«  Submit certificates of completion for 8 hours of fraud CE, as

requested in the deficiency letters dated May 31, 2012 and

July 27, 2012 (copies enclosed).

.o Pay the administrative fine as set forth in the citation.

30 days / By January 11, 2013

$250
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CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS
TITLE 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
DIVISION 1. Board of Accountancy Regulations
ARTICLE 9. Rules of Professional Conduct

SECTION 52. Response to Board Inquiry.

(a) A licensee shall respond to any inquiry by the Board or its
appointed representatives within 30 days. The response shall include
making available all files, working papers and other documents
requested. '

Deficiency letters were mailed to Mr. Wong on May 31, 2012 and
July 27, 2012. To date, Mr. Wong has not responded with the
requested documentation.

Comply with all CBA statutes and regulations.

e Submit the required documentation as requested in the deficiency

letters dated May 31, 2012 and July 27, 2012 (copies enclosed).
e Pay the administrative fine as set forth in the citation.

30 days / By January 11, 2013

$250



	Citation Order CT-2013-51




