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CALIFORNIA STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION 
 

Modified Text 
 
Changes to the originally proposed language are shown by double 
underline for new text and underline with strikeout for deleted text.   
 
Adopt Subdivisions (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), and (h) of Section 280 of Article 6, 
Division 2, Title 4 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 
 

§ 280. Examination Of Boxer Applicants. 

(a) Any boxer applying for a license or renewal thereof shall be examined 
by a physician currently licensed by this state to establish both physical and 
mental fitness for competition. Such examination shall be taken at such time as 
directed by the commission. Any boxer licensed by the commission who 
participates in a boxing match or contest outside the State of California may be 
required, upon his return to California, to again take this examination before 
being allowed to box in California. The results of such contests shall be reported 
to the nearest commission office by the licensee within 72 hours of his return to 
California. 

(b) An examination of an applicant or licensee may be accepted by the 
commission if it is performed by a physician authorized to perform such 
examinations by the state or nation in which the examination is conducted and if 
it is conducted in accordance with commission instructions, including the use of 
applicable forms prescribed by the commission. 

(c) Any boxer applying for a license or renewal shall be required to submit 
to and complete a medical examination process, which shall include the 
following: 

1. Neurological Examination must be performed by a licensed 
physician that specializes in neurology or neurosurgery.  This 
examination is valid for 12 months.   

2. Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) including Susceptibility 
Weighted Imaging (SWI), shall be completed by a licensed 
neurologist, neurosurgeon or neuroradiologist. 

3. Electrocardiogram (EKG) must be performed by a licensed 
physician.This medical test is only required once, or at the 
discretion of the licensed examining physician.  

4. Physical Examination must be performed by a licensed physician 
and is valid for 12 months.   

5. Eye Examination must be performed by a licensed ophthalmologist 
or licensed optometrist and must meet the requirements set forth in 



 

 

Revised 2/19/15 
 

Section 282, Article 6 of the California Code of Regulations. This 
examination is valid for 12 months.     

6. The following required blood tests shall be taken within 30 days of 
the date of application and are valid for 6 months:  

(A) Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Antibody 

(B) Hepatitis B Surface Antigen (HBsAg): 

(C) Hepatitis C Virus (HCV) 

 (d) The laboratory that administered the required blood tests shall be 
certified in accordance with the Federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act.  
The results of each blood test shall be submitted to the commission on the 
letterhead of the laboratory that administered them.  

 (e) The examining physician may recommend any additional tests or 
evaluations he or she deems necessary, as specified in Business and 
Professions Code section 18711. 

 (f) The commission may waive the requirement for a brain imaging scan or 
an EKG if a brain imaging scan or EKG was completed as part of the licensing 
requirements in another state, as specified in Business and Professions Code 
section 18711. 

 (g) The commission may, in its discretion, accept tests or evaluations that 
are equivalent to those described in subdivision (c) and that have been 
completed within one year of licensure.   

 (c)(h) In accordance with section 18711 of the Business and Professions 
Code,the commission shall collect from each promoter of professional matches 
licensed under the State Athletic Commission Act one hundred and seventy five 
dollars ($175) per event sanctioned by the commission until the State Athletic 
Commission Neurological Examination Account balance falls below one hundred 
thousand dollars ($100,000).  At that point, the amount of the assessment shall 
be re-examined by the commission. The manner in which the assessment is 
collected shall be at the discretion of the commission and shall be deposited in 
and credited to the State Athletic Commission Neurological Examination Account 
and shall be used to pay for the costs of neurological examinations required by 
section 18711.or for any other purpose related to  the neurological health of  
combat sports athletes and authorized by the California State Athletic 
Commission Boxing Act. 

 
NOTE: Authority cited: Section 18611, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference:Sections 18640, 18642, 18661 and 18711, Business and Professions 
Code.  
 

 




