CALIFORNIA STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

PROPOSED LANGUAGE

Amend Section 280 of Article 6, Division 2, Title 4 of the California Code of
Regulations to read as follows:

§ 280. Examination Of Boxer Applicants.

(@)

(b)

(c)

Any boxer applying for a license or renewal thereof shall be examined by a
physician currently licensed by this state to establish both physical and
mental fitness for competition. Such examination shall be taken at such time
as directed by the commission. Any boxer licensed by the commission who
participates in a boxing match or contest outside the State of California may
be required, upon his return to California, to again take this examination
before being allowed to box in California. The results of such contests shall
be reported to the nearest commission office by the licensee within 72 hours
of his return to California.

An examination of an applicant or licensee may be accepted by the
commission if it is performed by a physician authorized to perform such
examinations by the state or nation in which the examination is conducted
and if it is conducted in accordance with commission instructions, including
the use of applicable forms prescribed by the commission.

Any boxer applying for a license or renewal shall be required to submit to

and complete a medical examination process, which shall include the
following:

1. Neurological Examination must be performed by a licensed
physician that specializes in neurology or neurosurgery. This
examination is valid for 12 months.

N

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) using standard brain protocol
to include Gradient Echo Imaging (GRE) or Susceptibility Weighted
Imaging (SWI), shall be interpreted by a licensed neurologist,
neurosurgeon, or neuroradiologist, every 36 months.
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Electrocardiogram (EKG) must be performed by a licensed
physician.This medical test is only required once, or at the
discretion of the licensed examining physician.

Physical Examination must be performed by a licensed physician
and is valid for 12 months.
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Eye Examination must be performed by a licensed ophthalmologist
and must meet the requirements set forth in Section 282, Article 6

of the California Code of Requlations. This examination is valid for
12 months.
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(d)

6. The following required blood tests shall be taken within 30 days of
the date of application and are valid for 6 months:

(A) Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Antibody

(B) Hepatitis B Surface Antigen (HBsSAQ):

(C) Hepatitis C Virus (HCV)

(D) Tuberculosis: Purified protein derivative test (PPD) or
Quantifreon TB test.

The laboratory that administered the required blood tests shall be certified in

(e)

accordance with the Federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act. The
results of each blood test shall be submitted to the commission on the
letterhead of the laboratory that administered them.

The examining physician may recommend or require any additional tests or
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evaluations he or she deems necessary, as specified in Business and
Professions Code section 18711. If additional tests or evaluations are
required the athlete has the ability to appeal to the medical advisory
committee.

The commission may waive the requirement for a brain imaging scan or an

(@

EKG if a brain imaging scan or EKG was completed as part of the licensing
requirements in another state, as specified in Business and Professions
Code section 18711.

The commission may, in its discretion, accept tests or evaluations that are

(h)

equivalent to those described in subdivision (c) and that have been
completed within one year of licensure.

In accordance with section 18711 of the Business and Professions Code, the

commission shall collect from each promoter of professional matches
licensed under the State Athletic Commission Act two hundred and fifty
dollars ($250) per event sanctioned by the commission until the State
Athletic Commission Neurological Examination Account balance falls below
one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000). At that point, the amount of the
assessment shall be re-examined by the commission. The manner in which
the assessment is collected shall be at the discretion of the commission and
shall be deposited in and credited to the State Athletic Commission
Neurological Examination Account and shall be used to pay for the costs of
neurological examinations required by section 18711.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 18611, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 18640, 18642, 18661 and 18711, Business and Professions
Code.
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