Medical Board of California Online Licensing (Fees)
Non-Refundable Application Fee - $442.00
Non-Refundable Fingerprint Processing Fee - $49.00
Initial License Fee - $808.00
Reduced Initial License Fee - $416.50
Renewal - $808.00
Delinquent Renewal - $886.00
Voluntary - Family Physician Training Fee - $25.00
Duplicate - $50.00
Mandatory - Physician Loan Repayment Program Fee
California Business and Professions Code section 2435.2 requires applicants to pay a mandatory fee of $25.00 at the time of issuance or renewal of a physician and surgeon's license to the Physician Loan Repayment Program. The Physician Loan Repayment Program encourages recently licensed physicians to practice in under served locations in California by authorizing a plan of repayment of their medical school loans in exchange for their service in a designated medically under served area for a minimum of three years.
Voluntary - Family Physician Training Fee
You may voluntarily contribute $25.00 to provide training for family physicians and other primary care providers who will serve medically under served rural and inner city Californians, refugees, the frail elderly, and people with AIDS. If you wish to contribute $25.00 to the Physician Training Fund, you will need to add $25.00 to your payment.
Section 2435.2 of the California Business and Professions Code required a reduction in licensing fees if the Diversion Program was not extended by the legislature. Pursuant to this law, the Medical Board voted in 2008 to reduce the initial license fee and renewal fee for all physicians and surgeons. However, due to the lengthy rulemaking process involved in adopting this change, the fee reduction was not implemented until July 1, 2009.
Therefore, to complement this fee reduction, the Board voted to offer a one-time credit of $22 to all physicians who were granted an initial license or who renewed their license between July 1, 2008 and June 30, 2009. Since you were issued a license or renewed your license between these dates, your renewal fee has been adjusted to reflect this one-time credit of $22.