
  
  

 

 

 

  

 

 

  

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

As of Januar y 1, 2009, fiduciaries 
appointed by the courts or hired 
by individuals or families in 
California must hold a valid license 
as a professional fiduciary unless 
specifically exempt under State law. 

The Professional Fiduciaries 
Bureau is a State agency created 
in 2006 under the Department of 
Consumer A ffairs to license and 
regulate professional fiduciaries in 
California. 

Who must be licensed? 
• A conservator or guardian for two or 

more people. 

• A trustee or agent under durable 
power of attorney for healthcare or 

Who is exempt from licensing? 
Some professionals who perform 
fiduciary duties working within their 
scope of practice are exempt from 
licensing. They include: 

• Attorneys 

• Certified Public Accountants 

• Enrolled agents for the Internal 
Revenue Service 

• Broker-dealers and investment 
advisers 

• Employees of the following: 

» Trust companies 

» Institutions insured by the Federal 
Deposit Insurance Corporation 

» Corporations regulated by 

the Securities and Exchange 

Commission
 

Do you provide 
fiduciary services 

and need to be 
licensed? 

» Public offices or public agencies 
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finances for more than three people. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

  
  

  
 

 
 

 

 
 

What are the requirements to 
apply for a license? 
You must: 

• Meet the education and experience 
requirements. 

• Complete 30 hours of pre-licensing 
education given by a provider 
approved by the Professional 
Fiduciaries Bureau. 

• Submit a completed application, 
including information on conviction, 
bankruptcy, and breaches of 
fiduciar y duties. 

• Pay the $400 application fee. 

• Supply fingerprints to the 
Department of Justice for a criminal 
background check. 

• Consent to a credit check for the 
application review process. 

A license application packet and 
checklist are available online at 

ww w.fiduciary.ca.gov. 

When do I take the exam? 
A fter the Bureau determines you are 
eligible to take the exam, you register 
for the exam with the Center for 
Guardianship Certification. Go online 
to w w w.guardianshipcert.org, or 
call CGC at (717) 238 -4689 for more 
information about the exam. 

A fter you pass the exam, you must 
submit the license fee to the Bureau to 
receive your license. 

Where do I find out more about a 
career as a fiduciary? 
Contact the Bureau or one of these 
professional groups: 

• Professional Fiduciary Association of 
California 
w w w.pfac-pro.org 
(866) 886 -7322 

• Center for Guardianship Certification 
w w w.guardianshipcert.org 
(717) 238 -4689 

• National Guardianship Association 
w w w.guardianship.org 
(877) 326 -5992 
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How do I stay informed about 
Bureau activities? 
Join the Bureau’s interested party 
mailing list. Go online to www.fiduciary. 
ca.gov and click on “Sign up to Receive 
Advisories” under “Quick Hits.” 

How do I report something to the 
Bureau? 
To report unlicensed activity or financial 
elder abuse or to file a complaint, contact 
the Bureau by mail, e-mail or phone. 

Professional Fiduciaries Bureau 
P.O. Box 989005 
West Sacramento, CA 95798 -0005 

E-mail: fiduciary@dca.ca.gov 

Phone: (916) 574 -7340 
Fax: (916) 574-8645 

Professional Fiduciaries Bureau 
Mission 

To protect the consumer through 
licensing and monitoring, and to ensure 
competent and ethical standards of 
practice for professional fiduciaries. 

Vision 
To maintain and enhance the physical, 
emotional, and financial well-being of 
consumers by promoting the highest 
professional fiduciary standards. 
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