If your new car has a serious warranty defect that the manufacturer cannot fix, even after multiple attempts, you may be eligible to get your vehicle repurchased or replaced.

That is California's Lemon Law.



ARBITRATION CERTIFICATION PROGRAM

1625 North Market Blvd. Suite N-112 Sacramento CA 95834

www.LemonLaw.ca.gov

Tel: (916) 574-7350 Fax: (916) 574-8638 Email: acp@dca.ca.gov

Revised: 9/24 PDE_24-184





ARBITRATION CERTIFICATION PROGRAM



DOES CALIFORNIA'S LEMON LAW APPLY TO MY VEHICLE?

A: The Lemon Law covers the following new and used vehicles that come with the manufacturer's new vehicle warranty:

- Cars, pickup trucks, vans, and SUVs.
- The chassis, chassis cab, and drive train of a motor home.
- Dealer-owned vehicles and demonstrators.
- Vehicles purchased or leased primarily for business use. (Business fleet requirements are less than five vehicles and gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 lbs.)
- Vehicles purchased or leased for personal, family, or household purposes.

WHAT IF THE MANUFACTURER OR DEALER CANNOT FIX MY VEHICLE?

A: If the manufacturer or dealer is unable to repair a serious warranty defect in your vehicle after a "reasonable" number of attempts, the manufacturer must either:

- Replace the vehicle.
- Refund its purchase price (whichever you prefer).

WHAT IS A "REASONABLE" NUMBER OF REPAIR ATTEMPTS?

A: California's Lemon Law Presumption provides guidelines for determining a "reasonable" number of repair attempts if any of the following occurs within 18 months or 18,000 miles after the purchase or leasing of a new car, whichever occurs first.

- The manufacturer or dealer has not fixed the same problem after four or more attempts.
- Your vehicle's problems could cause death or serious bodily injury if it is driven, and the manufacturer or dealer has made at least two unsuccessful repair attempts.
- The vehicle has been in the shop for more than 30 days (not necessarily in a row) for repair of any problems covered by its warranty.

DO I NEED TO GO TO COURT FOR THE LEMON LAW TO HELP ME?

A: No. In many cases, your vehicle's manufacturer may offer a state-certified arbitration program that may assist you in resolving your dispute. If so:

- You must request arbitration to claim the benefits of the Lemon Law Presumption.
- You may accept or reject the arbitrator's decision.

I BOUGHT MY VEHICLE USED WITH NO NEW VEHICLE WARRANTY. DOES CALIFORNIA'S LEMON LAW STILL APPLY TO MY VEHICLE?

A: No. The Lemon Law applies only to disputes involving the manufacturer's new vehicle warranty.

