

## DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • CALIFORNIA STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION 2005 Evergreen St., Suite 2010, Sacramento, CA 95815 P (916) 263-2195 | TTY (800) 326-2297 | www.dca.ca.gov/csac



April 18, 2024

## **New Legislature Affecting the Event Gate Fee Cap**

Recent legislation has come into effect this year that will affect promoters holding combat sports events in the state of California. As of January 1, 2024 the statutory cap on gate fees that the Commission may collect from promoters has increased from \$100,000 to \$200,000. This update also raises the cap on the amount of admissions revenue that promoters are required to report to the Commission, from \$2,000,000 to \$4,000,000. The updated regulation can be found on the California Legislative Information website at the following link:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes\_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=18824

For more information on the increased gate cap please contact the Commission at (916) 263-2195 or at csac@dca.ca.gov.