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MESSAGE FROM THE DIRECTOR 
Every year brings change. At the 
midway point of 2016, DCA has 
already experienced quite a bit of 
change, especially in the arena of 
leadership, and we thought the 
Consumer Connection would be a 
great place to introduce these new 
leaders to our audience. 

In this issue, meet Dr. Kameka 
Brown, who took the helm of the Board for Vocational Nursing 
and Psychiatric Technicians in March—the ffth Executive 
Offcer of this Board since it was created in 1950. You can read 
more about Dr. Brown and the Board beginning on page 13. 

In July, DCA’s Executive team added two new members: 
Jeffrey Mason was appointed to serve as DCA’s Chief Deputy 
Director, and Adam Quiñonez was appointed to the position 
of Deputy Director of Legislative and Regulatory Review. 
You can meet all of DCA’s Executive Team online on the 
DCA leadership page at www.dca.ca.gov/about_dca/ 
leadership.shtml. 

Also in July, Dr. Joseph Morris was sworn in as the Executive 
Offcer for the State Board of Registered Nursing. You will 
have a chance to meet Dr. Morris in our fall issue. 

The year isn’t over yet. There are several entities that 
are searching for new leadership at this time, including 
the Acupuncture, and Podiatric Medicine boards and the 
Professional Fiduciaries Bureau. We will introduce you to 
them as they come on board. 

You could say this summer issue of the magazine addresses 
change. Our cover story, California Road Trip, offers readers 
places to go for a change of scenery, and how to make sure 
your car is ready for the road. In 2015, Governor Brown signed 
historic legislation that allows terminally ill adult patients to 
be prescribed an aid in-dying medication. The California End 
of Life Option Act went into effect on June 9; fnd out more 
about the new law and what it provides on page 15. 

If you’re thinking about changing your backyard to include a 
pool, we offer information on how to choose a contractor and 
the types of pools available. 

Also included in this issue is information about what to do if 
your car is repossessed and how Naturopathic Doctors can 
help you handle stress. We also address some online dangers: 
the growing trend of DIY braces and what may or may not 
be in your prescription bottle if you buy from a rogue online 
pharmacy. All of these articles and more lie within the covers 
of this magazine—we invite you to fnd out who we are and 
what we do. 

AWET KIDANE, Director 

If you have any questions or comments or would like 
more information regarding reports, statistics, quotes and 
studies mentioned in this publication, please e-mail us at 
consumerconnection@dca.ca.gov. 
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More and More People CHOOSING to Rent 
Whether it’s due to being priced out of hot housing markets that keep climbing 
or simply because the ideal of ownership has lost some luster, more people are 
renting now in the United States than at any point in the past 50 years. 

The share of all American households that are rented rose 
from 31 percent in 2005 to 37 percent in 2015, the highest 
rate since the mid-1960s, according to a biennial study 
in December by the Harvard Joint Center for Housing 
Studies. That spike of 9 million more renters over the past 
decade is the biggest on record for any 10-year period. 

Particularly in California—where markets like San 
Francisco and Los Angeles continue to sizzle—a lack 
of affordability continues to be a catalyst. Half of state 
renters, according to a June survey by the California 
Association of Realtors (CAR), don’t expect to buy a 
home in the future because they can’t afford it. That figure 
rose from 41 percent to 50 percent in the past three years. 

And in the same CAR survey, nearly two out of 10 renters 
(19 percent) said they can’t qualify for a mortgage, while 
15 percent said lack of a down payment is keeping them 
from buying—more than double the 6 percent in 2013. 

The Department of Consumer Affairs’ Bureau of Real 
Estate (CalBRE) has valuable information for California 
residents in the rental market. CalBRE’s Quick Guide for 
Tenants Renting a Home (online at www.calbre.ca.gov/ 
files/pdf/tenant_brochure_14-264.pdf) has tips to help 
renters avoid problems and protect themselves from fraud. 

The median California home price in May, according 
to CAR, was $518,760, a jump of 6.3 percent from a 
year earlier. In the second quarter of 2015, CAR reports 
30 percent of residents were able to purchase a median-
priced home—the same metric nationwide is 57 percent. 

But as home ownership becomes more costly, the Harvard 
study found, high demand has put upward pressure 
on rents and reduced vacancies. Forty-nine percent of 
renters were deemed “cost-burdened” (paying more than 
30 percent of income for housing) and 26 percent were 
“severely burdened” (paying more than half their income 
for housing). 
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Rental data site apartmentlist.com analyzed 2014 
U.S. Census data and compiled a list of the cities 
with the most cost-burdened renters (see graphic 
below). Six of the top 25 are in California, led by 
Los Angeles at No. 5. 

“The crisis in the number of renters paying excessive 
amounts of their income for housing continues, 
because the market has been unable to meet the 

Rental unit demand has risen in conjunction with 
an increase in older and higher-income households. 
According to the report, renting grew fastest among 
those who earned the most: The number of renters 
in the top tenth of income grew at a clip of 61 percent 
from 2005 to 2015. In addition, the largest 
share of growth in renters (55 percent) was among 
households age 50 and older. 

2 California Department of Consumer Affairs |  Summer 2016

need for housing that is within the financial reach of 
many families and individuals with lower incomes,” 
said Chris Herbert, director of the Joint Center for 

Housing Studies. “These affordability 
challenges also are increasingly 

afflicting moderate-income 
households.” 

According to the 2016 Rental Affordability Analysis 
by housing data firm RealtyTrac, buying a home is 
more affordable than renting in 58 percent of U.S. 
metro housing markets—although that only holds 
true for California in a handful of rural counties. 

“Renters in 2016 will be caught between a bit of 
a rock and a hard place, with rents becoming less 
affordable as they rise faster than wages, but home 
prices are rising even faster than rents,” said Daren 
Blomquist, vice president at RealtyTrac. 

Because housing markets can vary so widely, experts 
say it is critical to know your local market by talking 
to friends, family, and industry experts. Before 

settling on an agent for assistance, check to be sure 
they have a valid license with “Verify a Real 

Estate License” at the CalBRE website 
(www.calbre.ca.gov).  

1. Miami, FL 66.2% 

2. Detroit, MI 65.3% 

3. Kansas City, KS 63.4% 

4. Fort Lauderdale, FL 62.5% 

5. Los Angeles, CA 61.8% 

6. Memphis, TN 59.6% 

7. Boulder, CO 59.2% 

Jacksonville, FL 59.2% 

9. Cleveland, OH 58.8% 

10. Philadelphia, PA 57.5% 

11. Portland, OR 57.0% 

12. Tucson, AZ 55.6% 

13. Irvine, CA 55.2% 

14. New York, NY 55.1% 

15. Baltimore, MD 55.0% 

16. San Diego, CA 54.7% 

Tampa, FL 54.7% 

Mesa, AZ 54.7% 

19. Albuquerque, NM 54.3% 

20. Sacramento, CA 54.1% 

21. San Jose, CA 53.8% 

22. Atlanta, GA 53.7% 

23. St. Louis, MO 53.6% 

24. Oakland, CA 53.2% 

Chicago, IL 53.2% 

Top 25 U.S. cities with the highest 
percentage of cost-burdened renters 
(those who pay more than 30 percent of 
income for rent), according to 2014 Census 
data analyzed by apartmentlist.com. 
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    Road TRIP!
Time for a 

Road TRIP! 
Explore 
California’s 
State Parks 
Tere is no better time of the 
year than summer to take a 
road trip in California, and the 
Golden State has an abundance 
of State parks (118!) that feature 
tremendous environmental 
diversity—from rugged deserts 
to a world-renown coastline. 
Before you hit the road, be sure 
your car’s check engine light 
or malfunction indicator light 
is not on. For more tips and to 
make sure your road trip goes 
smoothly, take some advice 
from the Bureau of Automotive 
Repair on summer driving and 
hot-weather vehicle care. Te 
brochure Summer Driving: Tips 
for Getting Your Car in Shape is 
available at www.bar.ca.gov/pdf/ 
sumCarTips.pdf. 

3 
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Here are 10 State parks to consider this summer 
when you pile the family in the car and turn on 
the GPS, with details from the California State 
Parks website (www.parks.ca.gov) and  
www.stateparks.com unless otherwise noted: 

1   Angel Island—Te largest natural island in  
San Francisco Bay, Angel Island State Park ofers spectacular 
views of the surrounding Bay Area while hiking on miles of 
trails or exploring beaches. Te island’s history is unique. It 
was a hunting and fshing site for Coast Miwok 3,000 years 
ago, home to Spanish explorer Juan Manuel de Ayala, a cattle 
ranch, and a U.S. Army post. From 1910 to 1940, the island 

was a gateway for hundreds of thousands of immigrants, 
most from China, and during World War II, Japanese 

and German prisoners of war were held there.  
Te island is accessed by ferry from San 

Francisco or Tiburon. Nature programs,  
a café, camping, and bike rentals  

are available seasonally  
(415-435-5390,  

www.angelisland.com).
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Anza-Borrego Desert 10 

Crystal Cove 

Marshall Gold Discovery 

Humboldt Redwoods 

MacKerricher 

Mount Diablo 

Natural Bridges 

Pfeifer Big Sur 

Hearst San Simeon 
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2 Anza-Borrego Desert—On the eastern side of 
San Diego County, Anza-Borrego Desert is the largest 
State park in California at more than 600,000 acres. 
It houses 12 wilderness areas, 500 miles of dirt roads 
and tens of miles of hiking trails, where visitors will see 
washes, wildfowers, palm groves, and sweeping vistas. 
Anza-Borrego also has seven Cultural Preserves—State-
designated areas of historic and cultural signifcance— 
including Native American petroglyphs and 
pictographs. Wildlife includes bighorn sheep 
(albeit rare), foxes, deer, roadrunners, and iguanas. 
Te park and town of Borrego Springs are 
known for incredible stargazing because 
of the lack of light pollution—it is the frst 
International Dark Sky Community named 
in California (760-767-5311). 

3 Crystal Cove—Crystal Cove State Park is an 
oasis of open space and natural seashore right of the 
bustling Pacifc Coast Highway in Orange County. 
Its beaches, surf, tide pools, and wooded canyons 
and ridges provide many recreational opportunities. 
Te park covers 3.2 miles of beach and 2,400 acres 
of wilderness. Hikers and mountain bikers utilize 
terrain inland, while scuba and skin divers take 
advantage of an ofshore underwater area. Te 
beach is popular with swimmers and surfers, and 
docents conduct interpretive programs such as 
guided hikes, tide pool walks, and geology talks. 
Unique to the park is its Historic District, a 12-acre 
coastal area with 46 vintage cottages originally built 
in the 1930s and ’40s. In addition to visitor services 
and a restaurant, the Historic District includes 21 
cottages available to the public for overnight use 
(949-494-3539, www.crystalcovestatepark.org). 

4 Marshall Gold Discovery—James W. Marshall 
discovered gold in 1848 on the South Fork of the 
American River, triggering a massive U.S. population shif 
west and altering the course of California for good. In 
Coloma, east of Sacramento, Marshall Gold Discovery 
State Historic Park provides a window to the remarkable 
time period and scene that sparked the Gold Rush. 
Te park includes many historic buildings, including 
a replica of the sawmill that produced the frst fecks 
of gold for Marshall and John Sutter. Visitors have the 
opportunity to pan for gold on the American River, 
enjoy hikes, and picnic under the oak woodlands. A 
particularly informative destination for children—tours, 
exhibits, and special events are planned throughout the 
year—the State’s frst historic monument is at the park, 
with a statue of Marshall pointing at his gold discovery 
site (530-622-3470). 
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  5 Humboldt Redwoods—Te 
frst acquisition of a redwoods grove 
by a conservancy group in 1921 
was the beginning of Humboldt 
Redwoods State Park. Te park, 
of Highway 101 next to the North 
Coast town of Weott, has grown to 
53,000 acres, one-third of which is 
old-growth redwood forest—the 
largest area of ancient redwoods 
lef on the planet. Among the park’s 
highlights is the Avenue of the 
Giants, a 32-mile road tour through 
towering redwoods. Among popular 
stops along the way is Founder’s 
Grove, with the fallen 362-foot 
Dyerville Giant. Te South Fork of 
the Eel River provides opportunities 
for fshing, boating, picnicking, 
and swimming. More than 100 
miles of trails can be accessed by 
hikers, cyclists, and equestrians. 
More than 250 family campsites 

6 MacKerricher—Just north 
of Fort Bragg on Highway 1 
is MacKerricher State Park. 
MacKerricher ofers a variety of 
habitats, with camping in the forest 
near the coastline. Once part of the 
Mendocino Indian Reservation and 
then owned by a lumber company, 
MacKerricher features miles of 
beach between Fort Bragg and Ten 
Mile River, headlands, forest, and 
abundant dunes. Hiking, biking, and 
beach exploration are popular at the 
park, along with surf fshing and 
freshwater fshing in Cleone Lake, 
a former tidal lagoon. Up to dozens 
of seals can be seen lounging on the 
rocks just ofshore, and more than 
90 species of birds visit or live near 
Cleone Lake. Te park also features 
a wheelchair-accessible nature trail 
(707-937-5804). 

7 Mount Diablo—Many 
visitors to Mount Diablo State 
Park are drawn by one thing—the 
incredible view that is one of the 
best in the State. While the summit 
isn’t particularly tall by mountain 
standards at 3,849 feet, the relatively 
fat topography surrounding the 
park, which is in the East Bay Area, is 
what makes the peak such a treasure. 
When conditions are optimal, the 
view stretches nearly 200 miles— 
past the Golden Gate Bridge to the 
Farallon Islands in the west, to the 
Sierra Nevada and Tahoe in the east. 
Lassen Peak (10,466 feet) can be seen 
in the north. But Mount Diablo has 
more to ofer than a remarkable view. 
Te Summit Visitor Center is housed 
in a historic stone building made 
from sandstone blocks in the 1930s, 
and it highlights the cultural and 
natural history of the park. Te park 
also features an extensive trail system, in three diferent campgrounds 

are available, plus environmental 
camps, group camps, trail camps, 
and a horse camp. (707-946-2409, 
www.humboldtredwoods.org). 

camping, horseback riding, and an 
observation deck with telescopes 
(925-837-2525). 
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8 Natural Bridges—In addition to its famous 
natural stone bridge, Natural Bridges State Park in 
Santa Cruz is a haven for sea life and a unique monarch 
butterfy habitat. Lucky visitors may catch a view of 
migrating whales, in addition to shore birds, seals, and 
otters playing ofshore. Exploring tide pools is also a 
popular activity at the park, particularly at low tide when 
sea stars, crabs, and sea anemones can be seen. Te park’s 
Monarch Grove is home to more than 100,000 butterfies 
every fall and winter. Te grove has been declared a Natural 
Preserve, the only one in California, and can be visited 
via handicap-accessible boardwalk and observation area. 
Tere is no camping at Natural Bridges, but there is a 
picnic area with barbecues and restrooms (831-423-4609). 
A bonus: nearby Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, which is 
California’s oldest (1907) amusement park. 

9 Pfeifer Big Sur—Te rugged coastal 
beauty of the Big Sur area is tough to top. 
Te centerpiece of Pfeifer Big Sur State Park 
is the Big Sur River and surrounding gorge. 
Park trails take visitors through redwoods, 
conifers, oaks, sycamores, cottonwoods, and 
more. A large campground of more than 175 
tent and RV sites is available at this popular 
park, which is on Highway 1 about 25 miles 
south of Carmel. Sites ofen fll up months in 
advance, with the park’s most coveted sites 
along the Big Sur River. Big Sur Lodge is 
located in the park and has 61 guest rooms, 
a conference center, café, and grocery store. 
Tere are many day-use picnic areas along the 
Big Sur River. Te park has no beach access, 
but one mile south on Highway 1 is Pfeifer 
Beach (831-667-2315). 

10 Hearst San Simeon—A trip to Hearst San Simeon 
State Park provides remarkable Central Coast vistas and the 
chance to tour a National Historic Landmark. Te coastal park 
just north of Cambria ofers picnicking, fshing (including a 
pier), surfng, beachcombing, camping, and occasional whale 
watching. Te Simeon Creek campground ofers 115 sites for 
tents and RVs, while the primitive Washburn Campground is 
a mile inland overlooking the Santa Lucia mountains and has 
views of the Pacifc (805-927-2020). Famed newspaper publisher 
William Randolph Hearst started to build his opulent estate in 
1919, and by 1947, the hilltop complex now known as Hearst 
Castle included a twin-towered main building, three elaborate 
guesthouses, and 127 acres of terraced gardens, fountains, and 
pools. Summer tours are daily starting at 9 a.m. and cost $25, 
$12 for children under 13 (800-444-4445, hearstcastle.org). 

For more information on California State Parks or to make a 
reservation, go to www.parks.ca.gov. 
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THAT (UN)HEATHLY GLOWTHAT (UN)HEATHLY GLOW 

Tanning is Dangerous—Inside or Outside 

Summer is here, and for many the quest 
for the perfect tan is on, whether it be from 
the sun itself or from indoor tanning beds 
or lamps. For many sun worshippers, the 
resulting bronzed look is believed to be an 
attractive, healthy-looking glow. 

But there is a dark side. 
The negative impacts of unnecessary 
ultraviolet radiation exposure, usually from 
excessive time in the sun or from the use of 
indoor tanning devices, go beyond premature 
aging—they include skin cancer. 

In its 2014 Call to Action to Prevent Skin 
Cancer, the Surgeon General warned that 
tanned skin is damaged skin and we need to 
shatter the myth that tanned skin is a sign of 
health. When people tan or get sunburned, 
they increase their risk of getting skin cancer 
later in life. The report adds that skin cancer is 
the most commonly diagnosed cancer in the 
United States and is a major health problem, 
and even though most skin cancers can be 
prevented, rates are going up—including 
melanoma, the deadliest form. 

According to research 
cited in the Call to 
Action, more than 
400,000 cases of skin 
cancer, about 6,000 of 
which are melanomas, 
are estimated to be 
related to indoor 
tanning in the United 

California Department of Consumer Affairs |  Summer 2016 

States each year. Yet tanning bed companies 
continue to claim positive effects of the ultra-
violet light delivered by their products, and 
discount any link to cancer. 

Don’t be fooled. 
Recently, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) 
came down on two Illinois-based marketers 
of Mercola-brand indoor tanning systems who 
targeted consumers willing to buy into the 
hype. Under a settlement with the FTC, the 
companies were ordered to pay refunds to 
consumers and will be permanently banned 
from marketing or selling indoor tanning 
systems. The defendants are required to pay 
a maximum of $5,334,067 to cover the cost 
of refunds and administration of the refund 
program. 

In the FTC’s complaint filed in federal court, 
the Commission charged that Mercola and its 
two companies ran ads claiming their indoor 
tanning systems are safe, that research proves 
indoor tanning does not increase the risk of 
melanoma skin cancer, and that their systems, 
which deliver both ultraviolet (UV) light and red 

light, can “reverse the appearance 
of aging.” The FTC’s 
complaint alleged that these 
claims are false, misleading, 

or unsubstantiated. 

“These types of false claims 
are especially troubling 
because of the serious 
health risks posed by 

indoor tanning,” said 

8 



                     

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

Jessica Rich, Director of the FTC’s Bureau 
of Consumer Protection. “The fact is indoor 
tanning is not safe because it increases the 
risk of skin cancer, including melanoma.” 

In 2012, California became the first state in 
the nation to ban minors from using tanning 
beds. This year, the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) is proposing rules to 
restrict sunlamp product use to adults 18 and 
older nationwide. The FDA regulates products 
that emit radiation, including sunlamps and 
products that use sunlamp products, such as 
tanning beds and tanning booths. 

If the FDA’s first proposed rule becomes final, 
indoor tanning facilities would be banned for 
those younger than 18. This proposal, per the 
FDA, is intended to help protect the health of 
America’s youth. Adult users would have to 
sign a certification acknowledging they have 
been informed of the health risks related to the 
use of indoor tanning devices before their first 
use and every six months after that. 

Science doesn’t lie. People who have been 
exposed to radiation from indoor tanning are 
59 percent more likely to develop melanoma 
than those who have never tanned indoors, 
according to the American Academy of 
Dermatology. The FDA’s website explains 
that exposure to UV radiation—whether from 
the sun or from artificial sources such as 
sunlamps in tanning beds—increases the 
risk of developing skin cancer, according to 
the National Cancer Institute. It adds that 
melanoma is the sixth most common type 
of cancer in the United States, and that an 
estimated 76,000 new cases of melanoma are 
expected in 2016, with about 10,000 deaths 
attributed to melanoma projected for the year. 

The FDA website also reports that in 
July 2009, the International Agency for 
Research on Cancer (IARC), part of the World 
Health Organization, concluded that tanning 
devices that emit UV radiation are more 
dangerous than previously thought. IARC 
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moved these devices into the highest cancer 
risk category: “carcinogenic to humans.” 
Previously, it had categorized the devices as 
“probably carcinogenic to humans.” 

Development of cancer is a long process 
that may take decades. Therefore, IARC also 
recommended banning commercial indoor 
tanning for those younger than 18 to protect 
them from the increased risk for melanoma 
and other skin cancers. 

IARC’s conclusions and recommendations 
were based on its 2006 review of 19 studies 
conducted over 25 years on the use of 
indoor tanning equipment. The review found 
evidence of:

 An association between indoor tanning 
and two types of skin cancer: squamous 
cell carcinoma and melanoma.

 An association between UV-emitting 
tanning devices and cancer of the  
eye (ocular melanoma).

 Both UVA and UVB rays causing  
DNA damage, which can lead to  
skin cancer in laboratory animals  
and humans.

 The risk of melanoma of the skin 
increasing by 75 percent when tanning 
bed use started before age 35. 

IARC’s review had some limitations, said  
Ron Kaczmarek, M.D., MPH, an FDA 
epidemiologist who analyzed the review. 
Limitations include possible inaccuracy 
of people’s memories of their tanning 

UVA rays are linked to skin 
damage such as wrinkles, but 

also play a role in some skin 
cancers. UVB rays are the main 

rays that cause sunburns and 
are also thought to cause  

most skin cancers. 

experiences, not knowing the  
amount of UV radiation emitted by each 
tanning device, and the inability to separate 
the effects of individuals’ indoor and outdoor 
exposure. Nevertheless, IARC concluded that 
there is convincing evidence of an association 
between the use of indoor tanning equipment 
and melanoma risk, and that the use of tanning 
beds should be discouraged. 

“It’s well established that UV radiation from the 
sun causes skin cancer,” said Sharon Miller, 
MSEE, an FDA scientist and international 
expert on UV radiation and tanning. “Since 
lamps used in tanning beds emit UV radiation, 
the use of indoor tanning devices also 
increases your risk of skin cancer.” 

“Some of the best ways to prevent skin cancer 
are using a ‘broad spectrum’ sunscreen that 
protects against both UVA and UVB rays and 
reapplying it often; seeking shade; wearing 
sun-protective clothing; and regular visits 
to your licensed primary care physician, a 
dermatologist, or plastic surgeon for skin 
checks,” said Dev Gnanadev, M.D., Vice 
President of the Medical Board of California. 

To check a physician’s license, visit  
www.mbc.ca.gov.  

10          California Department of Consumer Affairs  |  Summer 2016 
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What to Consider 
With Pool Construction 

You’ve decided to take the plunge and put a swimming pool in your backyard. To ensure all goes smoothly and 
you don’t wind up getting soaked, be sure to choose wisely when selecting the pool contractor. 

Finding a licensed and reputable contractor is the frst and most important step 
before starting any major home project. In California, all swimming pool 
contractors are required to hold a C-53 Swimming Pool Contractor license for 
projects that cost $500 or more. Consumers can check if a contractor is 
licensed, insured, and in good standing by going to the Contractors State 
License Board’s (CSLB’s) website at www.cslb.ca.gov or by calling 
(800) 321-CSLB (2752). 

Although a qualifed contractor should inform you about construction 
and design details well before breaking ground, you should also 
educate yourself about what will be involved. Prior to hiring a contractor, 
research the available pool materials and how you envision the pool will 
integrate into your backyard. There are three basic types of in-ground pools: 
concrete, vinyl, and fberglass. 

Here’s a look at the pros and cons of all three: 
COnCreTe. Also called gunite or shotcrete because the concrete is shot from a gun onto the walls, this is 
the most popular of the three. PrOS: These pools can be designed into any shape and size and are the most 
durable. COnS: It takes between three weeks to several months to install; it is the most expensive of the three; 
textured surfaces can be uncomfortable and abrasive and can attract bacteria and algae. 

VInYL. Vinyl pools are made from a preformed fexible liner; the contractor digs out a hole and inserts wall 
frames; the liner attaches to the frame. Most vinyl pools are rectangular, but L-shaped and freeform liners are 
also available. PrOS: Liners come in dozens of colors and patterns; installation time is short—one to three 
weeks. COnS: The liner can be punctured by sharp objects, so choose a liner that’s at least one inch thick. 
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FIBerGLASS. These pools are molded into one giant shape at the factory, 
then set into a hole excavated by a crane. PrOS: Fast installation; some 
pools can be completed in as few as three days. The fnish is extremely 
durable and stain resistant, and this type of nonporous fnish means fewer 
chemicals and less algae. COnS: Options for sizes and shapes are limited. 
Because the molded pools are gigantic, they must be delivered by truck, 
which can take a long time. 

“A good contractor will appreciate that you’ve done your homework 
and will be anxious to share information with you,” says CSLB Registrar 

Cindi Christenson. 

In addition, when selecting a contractor, do some comparison shopping—but 
don’t pick one based on price alone. 

“Consumers should get at least three bids for their project,” says Christenson, who adds that consumers should never feel 
pressured by a contractor. “They should also take a look at past work of the contractors in person and make sure that all 
project expectations are in writing. Don’t sign anything unless you completely understand the terms.” 

Remember, installing a pool is a considerable investment. Carefully selecting a reputable and licensed contractor will 
save you time and money—and possibly stress and heartache—in the end. 

For more information about swimming pool construction and selecting a contractor, visit the CSLB website at 
www.cslb.ca.gov/Consumers/Hire_A_Contractor/Swimming_Pool_Construction/ or call (800) 321-CSLB (2752). 

   Tips to Ensure Your Pool
       Construction Goes Swimmingly 

BE CODE READY—Check your local building codes. 
Although the contractor should take care of this, it’s 
important for homeowners to also know the rules— 
certain areas may require special zoning permits and 
require that perimeter fences be a certain height. The 
last thing you want is a surprise problem that will delay 
your construction or worse, shut it down completely. 
Watch out for “swimming pool consultants” who claim 
they can save you money by having you pull your own 
permits as an “owner-builder”—then guiding you 
through the process for a fee. 

DON’T FORGET ABOUT INSURANCE—Before construction 
begins, check with your insurance agent to be sure you 
have adequate insurance protection. The most important 
is workers’ compensation insurance, which covers 

injuries to workers while on your property. The other is 
general liability, which covers damage to your property. 
Although not required by law, the Contractors State 
License Board recommends that you hire contractors and 
subcontractors who carry liability insurance. Verify all 
policy information by contacting the insurance company. 

SEEING IS BELIEVING—A reputable contractor takes 
pride in their work and will have no problem showing it 
off. They should have no problem with you asking to see 
some of their completed projects in person and speaking 
with their most recent customers. Ask the referred 
homeowners about their construction experience, 
including how the contractor was to work with, if the 
work was completed on time with no surprises, and if the 
contractor communicated well with them. 
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Executive Officer Spotlight Q&A 

Dr. Kameka Brown, 
Executive Officer 

The California Board of 
Vocational Nursing and 
Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT/ 
Board) licenses and regulates 
two diferent healthcare 
professionals in California— 
licensed vocational nurses 
(LVNs) and psychiatric 
technicians (PTs)—and has 
a licensee population of 
approximately 150,000. Each of 
the professions BVNPT regulates 
has its own statutes, regulations, 
curriculum requirements, 
examinations, and staf. A major 
change for the Board occurred 
in March with the arrival of 
Kameka Brown, Ph.D., MBA, N.P., 
who serves as the ffth executive 
ofcer since the Board was 
created in 1950. 

Did you always know that one day you would become a nurse? 
It’s funny. I was actually in telecommunications for 10 years before I became a nurse, 
but I knew that I needed to do something that would touch and inspire people. 
It was in a movie theater that I saw a Johnson and Johnson Discover Nursing 
advertisement and it just clicked. I knew that was it. Nursing is a healing and caring 
profession. I tell people, “I care about people for a living” and throughout my entire 
career, I have cared about people. From emergency care, to community health, to 
the students I taught, I always saw myself as simply facilitating the best for those 
I lead. And now with the consumers I protect and the educational institutions I 
help to regulate, I continue to care about the well-being and safeguard practice 
standards for vocational nurses and psychiatric technicians in California. 

What path did you take that led you here, to the California Department 
of Consumer Afairs as the Executive Ofcer of BVNPT? 
It’s interesting how life works. While it is never a direct path, it is a perfect path 
to the place you are meant to be. In my prior role as the Chief of Education and 
Workforce Development with the U.S. Department of Veteran Afairs, I met staf 
enrolled in educational programs that were not accredited. They were fummoxed 
at the prospect of starting over at a new school and saddled with heavy school loan 
debt. I was instantly activated and advocating for licensees was important. A mentor 
suggested regulation and enforcement as a career trajectory I should consider. After 
nearly 20 years, BVNPT was looking for new leadership. It was divine timing. 

What are some of your best memories of your nursing career? 
For me, nursing has always been a rewarding challenge. It is the little things that give 
value. For example, my former patient, a Korean War veteran who learned to control 
his blood sugar and regaled me about his time in the war. But it is also my student 
who said she just wanted to pass my research studies class and is now completing her 
doctorate that makes me smile. It is interfacing with people on the most personal and 
sometimes the most basic of levels that are my most memorable moments as a nurse. 

What does BVNPT do? 
The Board serves to license the 130,000 vocational nurses (VN) and 20,000 psychiatric 
technicians (PT) practicing throughout the state, along with certifying the 162 VN 
and 16 PT schools that train them. BVNPT is also a consumer protection agency and 
enforces regulations related to licensee and institution issues. Finally, BVNPT is an 
advocacy resource for VN/PT scope of practice and consumer protection. 

What is your vision for BVNPT? 
Leveraging a basketball analogy, I really see BVNPT akin to the Golden State 
Warriors of the National Basketball Association (NBA) prior to winning the 
2015 NBA championship. We are the little-known Board with a ton of talent. We 
have amazing staf with a wealth of knowledge and drive. My vision for our team 
is to increase public awareness of who we are and improve our ability to serve. 
We have existed in relative isolation for a number of years. Many were not able 
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to leverage our expertise and vice versa. We are on a campaign to reintroduce the Board to consumers 
and the public. With such an introduction, internal accountability was necessary. We had to shore up 
our organizational structure and improve our telephone and customer service along with stafng. This 
naturally segued into improving our ability to provide service. I want to capture our in-house expertise 
(e.g., processes) that are commonly leveraged through Lean Six Sigma1  and standard work. It will make 
our Board more efcient and proactive in our responsiveness to consumers and the stakeholders. 

How do you spend your free time? 
BVNPT protects consumers by I am dedicated to our region and my community. I have several philanthropic 
licensing, regulating, and disciplining eforts that I devote my time to regularly. Most dear to my heart are at-risk youth 
vocational nurses and psychiatric (foster care and homeless). Currently, I serve on the board of an organization 
technicians and by educating dedicated to increasing permanency for foster children and eradicating 
consumers about their rights. For homelessness. 
more information or to contact the 
Board, visit their website at What particular challenges does BVNPT face at this time? 
www.bvnpt@dca.ca.gov. 

Nationally, many boards are facing the challenge of borderless healthcare. 
With many clinicians caring for patients in a number of areas and with the 
advent of telemedicine, the complexity of regulating academic institutions 
and operating ofces in multiple states is challenging. The discussion 
of national licensure compact continues to emerge, along with how to 
standardize licensure requirements across all states to protect against 
application fraud and ensure the highest standards are preserved. As 
healthcare continues to evolve and innovate, this discussion of borderless 
healthcare will be an undertaking not just for our Board, but many healing 
arts boards. 

What would you like consumers to know about BVNPT? 
I would like consumers to get to know us again. While they may recall limited 
interactions with the Board in the past, we are the fresh and new board of 
tomorrow. We are engaging, interactive and responsive. We are here to help, 
respond, and advocate. I invite consumers to get to know us again. 

Can you explain the diference between an LVN, P.T., and R.N.? 
LVN is an 8–12 month program, typically; that allows one to sit for the NCLEX-PN examination. No 
degree is conferred. LVNs can practice in any setting under the direction of a provider (N.P./M.D./D.O.). 
There are some procedures and medications LVNs are not able to perform/give (chemotherapy drugs/ 
blood transfusion). 

P.T. is an 8–12 month program, typically; that allows one to sit for the CAPTLE examination. Colorado is 
the only other state that licenses P.T.s. They practice in mental health facilities, emergency departments, 
home based, and other areas under the direction of a provider (N.P./M.D./D.O). 

R.N. is a 12–24 month program, typically; that allows one to sit for the NCLEX-RN examination. The degree 
level includes A.A., BSN and generic Masters. R.N.s can practice in any setting under the direction of a 
provider (N.P./M.D./D.O.). 

See page 29 for descriptions of the 
Boards, new publications. 

1Lean Six Sigma is a methodology that relies on a collaborative team efort to improve performance by systematically removing waste. 

California Department of Consumer Affairs |  Summer 2016 14 

http://www.bvnpt%40dca.ca.gov


|                       

  
      
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

                      Consumer Connection   Summer 2016

DEATH 
With DIGNITY 

Californians NOW Have a Choice 
As of June 9, 2016, adult Californians who are terminally ill 
have the choice to opt out of their pain and sufering. Te 
California End of Life Option Act (ABX2-15, Monning 
and Wolk) was signed into law by Governor Brown on 
October 5, 2015, and went into efect this past June, making 
California the ffh state to permit this end-of-life option, 
joining Vermont, Oregon, Washington, and Montana. 

Modeled afer the Oregon Death With Dignity Act, the 
California statute allows certain terminally ill individuals 
to legally request medications from their physicians that 
will hasten their deaths and end their lives in a humane and 
dignifed manner. 

However, no two state laws are alike, and there has been 
some confusion regarding the California law. Below is a 
summary of the law that, hopefully, will help clear things 
up a bit. 

It is voluntary for patient, physician, and pharmacist. 
Use of the law is voluntary; physicians can refuse to write 
the order and pharmacists can refuse to fll it. 

It is not the same as euthanasia. In euthanasia, the 
doctor gives the drugs to the patient. Aid-in-dying 
requires the patient to ingest the drugs him- or herself. 

Only the patient—not a family member or another 
person—can make the request for the prescription. Te 
patient must make two oral requests at least 15 days apart, 
plus submit one writen request in the proper statutory 
form. All requests must be made in person. 

Two requests are required. Before the patient can 
request a prescription for an aid-in-dying drug, he or she 
must be seen by a “consulting physician,” which is defned 
as a physician who is “independent from the atending 
physician and who is qualifed by specialty or experience 
to make a professional diagnosis and prognosis regarding 
the patient’s terminal disease.” Te consulting physician 
may not witness the patient’s writen request and may not 
be related by blood, marriage, domestic partnership, or 
adoption or be entitled to a portion of the patient’s estate 
upon death. 
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Five forms are required. Te forms are: Request for 
an Aid-in-Dying Drug to End My Life in a Humane and 
Dignifed Manner; Final Atestation for an Aid-in-Dying 
Drug to End My Life in a Humane and Dignifed Manner; 
Atending Physician Checklist & Compliance Form; 
Consulting Physician Compliance Form; and Atending 
Physician Follow-Up Form.  

Certain conditions have to be met in order to make an 
Aid-in-Dying Request. 

•	 The person must be 18 years of age or older. 

•	 The person must be mentally competent. 

•	 The person has been diagnosed by his or her 
physician as having a terminal illness that will 
lead to death in six months or less. 

•	 The individual has expressed that he or she 
wishes to receive a prescription for the aid in 
dying drugs. 

•	 The individual must be a California resident, 
or must be able to prove residency. 

Te forms can be viewed and downloaded at the California 
Department of Public Health’s website: htps://www. 
cdph.ca.gov/Pages/Endof LifeOptionAct.aspx. 

An interpreter can be used. As long as the request form 
signed by the patient is writen in the same language as all 
conversations, consultations, or interpreted consultations or 
conversations between the patient and his or her atending 
physician. 

Which drugs are used in the aid-in-dying process? Te 
Act does not specify nor list which drugs can or should be 
used. According to the California State Board of Pharmacy, 
the most common drugs prescribed for this purpose in 
Oregon are secobarbital and pentobarbital. Patients are 
typically prescribed an antiemetic at the same time, which 
they are directed to self-ingest about one hour before taking 
either medication to prevent nausea and vomiting. 

Health insurers are not required to cover the price of the 
drugs. Te Act does not require insurance companies to pay 
for the drug. You would need to check with your particular 
provider to fnd out if the drugs are covered. 

You can change your mind. A patient may choose to 
withdraw the request and not ingest the drugs at any time. 
Te atending physician has an obligation to inform the 
patient that he or she can withdraw the request at any time 
or in any manner. 

Te law does expire. If the Legislature does not act to 
renew it, the law will expire in 2026. 

SOURCES: 

CMA On-Call Online Health Library, Document #3459, 
The California End of Life Option Act 

Death With Dignity, www.deathwithdignity.org 

State Board of Pharmacy The Script newsletter, Spring 2016, 
www.pharmacy.ca.gov/publications/16_spring_script.pdf 

Medical Board of California 
California End of Life Option Act, www.mbc.ca.gov/Licensees/ 
Physicians_and_Surgeons/End_of_Life.aspx 

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Pages/EndofLifeOptionAct.aspx
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Pages/EndofLifeOptionAct.aspx
http://www.deathwithdignity.org
http://www.pharmacy.ca.gov/publications/16_spring_script.pdf
www.mbc.ca.gov/Licensees/Physicians_and_surgeons/End_of_Life.aspx
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Heal Tyself
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Heal Tyself 

Dr. Tara Levy, N.D., Department 
of Consumer Affairs’ Naturopathic 
Medicine Committee member Vice 
Chair, recommends the need for: 

•	 Balanced blood sugar: To 
achieve a healthy amount of 
energy, maintain an adequate 
amount of protein in your diet 
throughout the day, along with 
several servings of vegetables 
and plenty of water. 

•	 B vitamins and vitamin C: 
When your body is under 
stress, your need for these 
vitamins increases and these 
supplements can help provide 
you with adequate energy. 

•	 Good quality sleep: Most adults 
need between seven to nine 
hours a night. If it’s diffcult 
to get that amount, consider 
herbs such as passionfower or 
valerian, or nutrients such as 
theanine or magnesium to help 
calm the nervous system and 
prepare your body for rest. 

Stress management using 
naturopathic medicine methods 
encompasses all these principles. 

Naturopathic Medicine’s Approach to Stress Management 

Stress is an unavoidable part of our daily lives. Whether it’s the work 
deadline you’re trying to meet; the e-mails, texts, and phone messages 
you need to respond to; or the daily demands of parenting, our lives 

have become increasingly more complicated, busy … and stressful. 

Tat makes stress management incredibly important and essential. 
Uncontrolled and high amounts of stress can afect not only how we 
feel mentally—leading to depression, moodiness, and anxiety—but also 
physically. According to the American Psychological Association, it can 

afect a variety of our body’s processes, including respiratory, cardiovascular, 
nervous, and even our reproductive systems. As a result, our bodies are more 

prone to disease and dysfunction. 

What can you do to manage and reduce stress? If you’re open to more natural 
solutions, you may want to consider naturopathic medicine. It is based on holistic 
principles, including believing and trusting in a body’s ability to heal itself; looking 
beyond symptoms to understand the underlying case of a condition; initially using 
natural and the least invasive methods; recognizing a person’s total health that 
includes physical, emotional, genetic, and social factors; as well as encouraging and 
emphasizing disease prevention and focusing on promoting health and wellness. 

When you frst visit a Naturopathic Doctor (N.D.), you will typically be asked 
questions regarding your health history and any other relevant information, 
including lifestyle habits, diet, and home and work life. Te initial exam may also 
include lab tests. 

“Naturopathic doctors may utilize tests not commonly seen in conventional care that 
allow them to evaluate organ and metabolic function with much more precision,” 
said Committee member Dr. Greta D’Amico, N.D. “Once your [N.D.] feels she has 
all the details she needs to get a good picture of what is going on, she will make 
recommendations about how to turn it around.” 

Be upfront with your N.D., letting them know about any existing conditions and 
what other supplements and medications you’re already taking. Any relevant 
information you can provide will help give your N.D. a full picture of your current 
situation and allow for more efective treatment. 

When considering using an N.D. to treat your stress, do your homework. Get 
recommendations from friends and family members and visit the Committee’s 
website at www.naturopathic.ca.gov to verify and fnd out the status of a license. 

To fnd out more about naturopathic medicine and the N.D. profession, visit the 
California Naturopathic Doctors Association (www.calnd.org) and the American 
Association of Naturopathic Physicians (www.naturopathic.org) websites. 
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What’s Really in Your 
Prescription Bottle? 
Many online pharmacies may be fakes and could be 
selling counterfeit, toxic medications. 

Rat poison, foor wax, brick dust, house paint, road paint, paint thinner, and antifreeze. These are just some of 
the deadly ingredients found in fake prescription drugs sold by rogue online “pharmacies.” 

Even if those medications purchased online don’t contain toxic substances, they could be expired and you 
can’t be sure they contain any of the actual medicine. Some counterfeits could also contain too much or 
too little of the needed ingredients and may cause allergic reactions, harmful side effects, or even death. 
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Counterfeit medicine can be found as a generic drug 
or a brand-name drug, and can be almost anything— 
including pet medicines, antibiotics, painkillers, and drugs 
to treat conditions such as erectile dysfunction, heart 
problems, mental health issues, HIV, AIDS, diabetes, and 
cancer. These fake medicines often come from countries 
where government enforcement is weak; however, they 
can be manufactured anywhere. Additionally, fake online 
pharmacies may falsely claim to be located in countries 
such as Canada or the United States. 

Interpol, the world police agency, says more than 
1 million people worldwide die each year from 
counterfeit medications and estimates that up to 
30 percent of drugs sold worldwide are counterfeit. 

The National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 
(NABP) warns that the vast majority of websites selling 
prescription drugs online are doing so illegally—many 
of them sell unapproved, substandard, expired, and 
counterfeit medicine. The U.S. supply chain is a highly 
regulated distribution chain, and legitimate drug 
manufacturers will not sell their medications to rogue 
drug distribution outlets that pose as pharmacies. 

NABP has reviewed nearly 11,000 online drug outlets 
selling prescription medications and found that 
96 percent are not in compliance with U.S. pharmacy 
laws and practice standards that protect the public 
health. Of the websites NABP identifes as “not 
recommended,” nearly half offer foreign drugs or drugs 
not approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA) for sale in the United States. 

Additionally, NABP noted that 20 new, illegal websites 
claiming to be pharmacies appear on the Internet every 
day. Not only are the medications they sell questionable, 
these rogue pharmacies can also steal your credit card 
numbers, and identity and health information. 

now There’s .pharmacy 

To aid consumers who wish to safely buy medications 
online, NABP has worked for two years to establish 
a .pharmacy (called “dot pharmacy”) domain name 

that ensures participating pharmacies 
comply with FDA laws for drugs sold to U.S.-
located patients, so the public can purchase 
medications on the Internet with confdence. 

According to NABP’s website, .pharmacy is a secure and 
trustworthy top-level domain where consumers can be 
sure the medications they buy online are legitimate. 

Virginia Herold, Executive Offcer of the California State 
Board of Pharmacy (Board), serves on the executive 
board for .pharmacy. She said about 25 boards of 
pharmacy are currently using .pharmacy suffxes 
along with a number of pharmacies. The Board is one 
of these boards, which if you enter www.CAboard. 
pharmacy will take you to the Board’s website 
(which also uses its State government Web address of 
www.pharmacy.ca.gov). She noted more states and 
additional companies are pursuing .pharmacy domain 
names as they complete NABP’s vetting process. 

“Buying on the Internet can be a safe way to purchase 
medication IF you can be certain you are dealing with 
a licensed pharmacy that 
follows state and federal 
laws,” Herold said. “In a few 
years, the use of .pharmacy 
should become the dominant 
form of transactions for 
patients seeking legitimate 
online pharmacies.” 

Always Buy From a 
Licensed Pharmacy 

Herold said buying your 
prescription medicine from 
a pharmacy licensed by the 
Board is one way to ensure 
you are dealing with legitimate 
pharmacies. All pharmacies, 
including online pharmacies 
located in other states that dispense prescription 
medicine to California patients, must be licensed 
by the Board. 

Licensed pharmacies are regulated and inspected. 
Under California and federal laws, it is illegal to 
sell prescription medicine without a valid doctor’s 
prescription. Also, if a pharmacy is located in a state 
outside of California and sells to California residents, 
it must be licensed in both its home state as well as in 
California. 

A new poster from by the California 
State Board of Pharmacy warns of the 

dangers of rogue online pharmacies 
and promotes the new .pharmacy 

domain name. 
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Lower Your risk 

Unfortunately, the making and selling of counterfeit medicine happens and it’s hard to tell a fake just by 
looking at it—you may need chemical testing to identify it as a counterfeit. 

Be aware and protect yourself by always getting a prescription from a licensed health care provider and 
flling it at a licensed pharmacy that you know is licensed, whether or not its location is online. Don’t buy 
medicines off of Craigslist or from street vendors. 

If you suspect you received counterfeit medicine, contact the pharmacy where you purchased it and notify: 

California State Board of Pharmacy: (916) 574-7900: www.pharmacy.ca.gov 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration: (800) 332-1088: www.fda.gov 

For more information on counterfeit prescription medications, go to 
www.pharmacy.ca.gov/publications/counterfeit_drugs.pdf. 

Is it a Fake? 

Counterfeits often look exactly like real medicine and can even fool health care professionals, but here 
are some signs that your prescription drugs could be counterfeit: 

n The container label has a name for a drug you did not order. 

n The pills are chipped or cracked. 

n The container and packaging have changed. 

n The label on the container is crooked. 

n   Foreign language text appears on the label. 

n The medicine is in a baggie, not a prescription container. 

n The drug looks or tastes differently than it did before. 

n The drug causes a different reaction or does not work as well as the medicine you are used to. 

n   Security seals are broken and there are signs of tampering. 

n There is no customs declaration or postal label declaring the contents as medicines. 

n The batch number and expiry date on the primary internal packaging does not match the
      batch number and expiry date on the secondary (external) packaging. 

Be Sure Your Privacy is Protected

     n   Look for privacy and security policies that are easy-to-fnd and easy-to-understand. 

n   Don’t give any personal information such as your Social Security number, 
credit card number, or medical or health history unless you are sure 

the website is legitimate. 

n   Make sure that the website will not sell your information 
unless you agree to the sharing. 

www.pharmacy.ca.gov
www.pharmacy.ca.gov
www.pharmacy.ca.gov/publications/cpunterfeit_drugs.pdf


AVOIDING THE WAIT: 
QuALifyiNg fOR COVERED CALifORNiA’s sPECiAL ENROLLmENT 

Open Enrollment is still months away, but you may still be 
able to enroll. Generally, you can only sign up for Covered 
California during the Open Enrollment period, which starts in 
the fall. But there are exceptions. 

With Special Enrollment, if you experienced a qualifying 
life changing event, you can get coverage anytime of the year. 

“Life happens. Whether it’s the joy of getting married or 
the upheaval that comes with losing a job, things can get 
complicated in a hurry,” says James Scullary, spokesperson for 
Covered California, California’s health insurance marketplace. 
Under the Patient Protection and Afordable Care Act (ACA), 
Covered California makes afordable health care coverage 
available for individuals and small businesses. 

Life changing events that may qualify you for Special 
Enrollment include: 

• Having or adopting a child. 

• Changing where you permanently live. 

• Being released from jail or prison. 

• Turning 26 and no longer covered by your parent’s plan. 

• Returning from active duty military service. 

• Having exhausted your COBRA coverage. 

• Becoming a citizen, national, or permanent legal resident. 

Although signing up through Special Enrollment is available 
year-round, be aware there’s still a deadline: You must enroll 
within 60 days from the date of your qualifying life event. For 
example, if you have a baby on March 1, then you have until 
April 30 to notify Covered California, complete an application, 
choose a health plan, and pay. Also, it’s important to note 
that there is a Shared Responsibility Payment tax penalty if 
you don’t get health coverage for your newborn. 

The same goes for you and other family members. The tax 
penalty is nothing to ignore and has increased signifcantly 
over the past two years. You must pay the penalty if you can 
aford insurance but don’t buy it. This year, the penalty is the 
greater of: 

• $695 for each adult and $347.50 for each child, up 
to $2,085 per family, OR 

• 2.5 percent of the tax fler’s annual household 
income minus the federal tax fling threshold. 

To estimate your potential penalty, use the Tax Policy Center 
ACA Tax Calculator at www.taxpolicycenter.org/interactive 
tools/aca-tax calculator. 

If you feel you can’t aford coverage, you may be able to 
qualify for fnancial help, either through Covered California 
or Medi-Cal. Similar to Special Enrollment, you can apply for 
Medi-Cal anytime of the year. 

Having health insurance is a smart move—not only to avoid 
the tax penalty but also the larger fnancial risk of huge 
medical bills if an unexpected health issue arises. 

To fnd out more about Covered California’s Special Enrollment, 
visit www.coveredCA.com or call (800) 300-1506. 

Consumer Connection |  Summer 2016 21                      

   
     

 
 

 
 

  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

  

  

  

 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 

 

-

-

- -
-

http://www.taxpolicycenter.org/interactive-tools/aca-tax-calculator
http://www.taxpolicycenter.org/interactive-tools/aca-tax-calculator
http://www.coveredCA.com


            

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
  

 

Don’t Leave it to Chance . . . 
. . . or to the State 

Get an Estate Plan in Place Now. 
Surprisingly, Prince didn’t have a will. Unfortunately, about half 
of all Americans don’t either. 

Is dying without a will—called dying intestate—an issue? It can be 
if it’s important to you whom gets what. When you die intestate, 
state law determines how your assets are distributed. In general, 
all goes to your closest relatives. For example, in California, if you 
die with children but have no spouse, parents, or siblings, your 
kids will get everything; and if you die with a spouse but have no 
children, parents, or siblings, your spouse will inherit everything. 
If you have young children and you and your spouse die or the 
surviving parent is determined unft, the state will also decide 
who will take care of your children. Another downside to not 
having a will: Your estate will defnitely go into probate, which is 
a lengthy and expensive court process for distributing your assets. 

According to a 2012 survey by 
online legal services company 
Rocket Lawyer, a large 
percentage of people don’t 
have wills. Te survey reported 
that 50 percent of Americans 
with children and 41 percent 
of baby boomers (age 55–64) 
do not have a will. 
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Tat all being said, it’s a smart idea to 
have a solid estate plan in place and 
have control of what will happen to 
your assets and family afer your death. 

Wills and living trusts 
A will, also called “last will and 
testament,” is a legal document that 
details your fnal wishes and takes 
efect and becomes public afer your 
death. A will also names an executor— 
the person responsible for making sure 
the terms of your estate are adhered to. 

Unlike a will, a living trust can take 
efect while you’re still alive, remains 
private, and is not subject to probate 
proceedings. You, as the trustee, can 
transfer your property into a living 
trust while alive and continue to 
manage the property (sell, exchange, 
invest) in the trust. Te trust is also 
revocable, meaning the creator of the 
living trust can change or dissolve 
it at any time as long as he or she 
is mentally competent. Te trust 
names successor trustees, who can 
be your children or a trusted relative 
who can take over your living trust 
at the time of your death or if you 
become incapacitated. However, if 
you don’t have someone you feel you 
can trust as the successor trustee, 
an option is a professional fduciary. 
(Visit the California Professional 
Fiduciaries Bureau website at 
www.fduciary.ca.gov to learn more 
about professional fduciaries and the 
services they can provide.) 

A living trust, like a will, is set up so 
your benefciaries receive the assets 
afer your death. Any assets not 
included in the living trust at the time 
of death can be transferred to the trust 
through a pour-over will. Although a 

ESTATE PLAN SCAMMING 
Nothing is off limits to scammers, including estate planning. 
Unscrupulous sales agents prey on seniors and use high-
pressure scare tactics to get them to buy overpriced living 
trusts or to get ahold of personal and fnancial information. 

According to the California Offce of the Attorney General 
(OAG), sales agents pass themselves off as being experts 
in living trusts and call themselves “trust advisors,” “senior 
estate planners,” or even paralegals. They sometimes hold 
free seminars in places where seniors gather such as assisted 
living facilities and churches. 

The OAG warns consumers not to become victims of living 
trust mills and other estate planning scams. Here are some 
red fags: 

•	 Living trust mills’ sales agents are usually not 
attorneys and not experts in estate planning. 

•	 Be wary of companies that sell trusts and also 
try to sell annuities or other investments. 

•	 Living trust mills’ sales agents don’t disclose 
possible adverse tax consequences or 
early withdrawal penalties incurred when 
transferring stocks, bonds, certifcates of 
deposit or other investments to 
annuities. 

If you feel you’ve been the victim 
of estate planning fraud, report 
the incident to your local district 
attorney’s consumer fraud 
unit and to the California 
Department of Insurance. 
You can also fle complaints 
online at the OAG 
website, 
www.oag.ca.gov. 
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trust is not subject to probate, a pour-over will is. Tis 
may seem to negate one of the important benefts of 
having a living trust. However, if you’ve set up your 
trust properly, you’ve already transferred your large 
and most valuable assets to the trust before death. 
All that should be lef for the pour-over will are 
minor-value assets. 

Which one? 
What type of estate plan you choose should depend 
on your preferences and circumstances. 

In general, a living trust is more expensive to set up 
than a will; the cost depends on the complexity and 
size of your assets and investments, as well as where 
you live. Kiplinger’s Personal Finance magazine states 
that an estate plan that includes a trust costs $1,000 
to $3,000, versus $300 or less for a simple will. 

Unfortunately, California doesn’t use the Uniform 
Probate Code, which can help simplify the probate 
process. So if your estate is complex, it may be 
worthwhile to go with a living trust and avoid the 
State’s probate process. However, be aware that 
California does have a 
simplifed probate process 
for small estates (under 
$150,000); in that case, you 
may want to opt to use a will. 
Tis process can be helpful 
for your pour-over will: If 
your assets are under the 
$150,000 threshold, then 
you can take advantage of 
this faster, simpler probate 
process. 

Although estate size and 
complexity are two important 
factors to consider when 
deciding whether to go 

with a will or a living trust, consult a qualifed estate 
attorney or other qualifed and reputable fnancial 
and estate planner on the best choice. Visit the State 
Bar of California website for a list of certifed estate 
planning specialists referral services: www.calbar. 
ca.gov/lrs or call the State Bar at (888) 460-7364. 

According to the State Bar, other estate planning 
documents that you should have are a durable 
power of attorney to allow someone to manage 
your afairs—fnancial and legal—if you become 
incapacitated. You may also want to consider having 
an advance health care directive, which allows 
someone to make health care decisions for you if you 
become ill or incapacitated. In your advance health 
care directive, you can indicate what your wishes are 
for decisions such as end-of-life, do not resuscitate 
(DNR) orders, and organ donation. 

Obviously, if you don’t have an estate plan, you won’t 
be around to worry about probate and expenses afer 
death—but think about what your loved ones will 
have to go through. Spare your family a great deal of 
stress, time, and money by having one in place that 
works for everyone. 
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 THE R ISKS OF D IY BR CES 
There’s no denying it—braces are expensive. 
According to CostHelper.com, the average cost of 
braces is $4,937 without dental insurance, and $3,407 
with dental insurance. 

Faced with these kinds of numbers, especially 
when multiple children in a family need braces, 
consumers are increasingly turning to do-it-yourself 
(DIY) measures that, although inexpensive, aren’t 
considered safe and can lead to long-term dental 
issues and high costs. 

“While it’s cool to do some things on your own, 
when it comes to the health of your teeth and gums, 
the do-it-yourself approach can leave you with 
very little to smile about,” as stated in an American 
Association of Orthodontists (AAO) 2015 public 
service announcement video. “Trying to close a gap or 
straighten your teeth yourself can increase the risk of 
infection and serious damage to your teeth and gums, 
including tooth loss. Replacing lost teeth is expensive 
and a person may require multiple replacements over 
the course of a lifetime.” 

DIY ways to straighten your teeth are posted in viral 
YouTube videos, with people demonstrating and 
explaining the virtues of closing gaps in teeth 
using rubber bands, or “gap bands.” Other 
videos show people using items such as 
paper clips and dental foss. Unfortunately, 
the possibility of negative consequences 
is not mentioned during the videos. For 
example, a rubber band can gradually 
make its way into your gums, tearing 
attachments between the tooth and gums 
and causing permanent tooth loss. 

Professionals also warn consumers about 
mail-order teeth straightening kits. With 
the kits, consumers are sent materials 
to take a tooth impression that they then 
send back to the company. 
Next, the mail-order 

teeth aligners and treatment plan are sent back to the 
consumer. Professionals stress that safe and effective 
orthodontics requires regular visits and supervision 
by a trained and qualifed orthodontist; it’s not a one-
time shot. 

But what do you do if you can’t afford orthodontics? 
Because of the costs involved, most orthodontists 
will offer fexible payment plans. Lower-cost 
treatments may also be available at orthodontics 
schools. Another option is the AAO Donated 
Orthodontic Services (DOS) Program, which will 
expand nationally this year to be available in every 
state; right now, it’s only offered in Tennessee, 
Virginia, North Carolina, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, 
Kansas, New Jersey, and Rhode Island. The DOS 
program will be administered by Dental Lifeline 
Network and will work with AAO. Through the 
program, time and services will be donated by 
qualifed orthodontists, and low-income children will 
receive orthodontic care at no cost. Visit the AAO 
website at www.aaoinfo.org to learn more. 

“This isn’t like home remodeling where if you get 
into trouble, you can always call a professional later,” 
says Dr. Brent Larson, trustee for the Midwestern 

Society of Orthodontists, in an April 2016 
AAO release. “DIY fxes may seem 

like an inexpensive alternative, but 
unfortunately the adage holds up: 
You get what you pay for.” 

Take the time to choose a 
professional who is experienced, 
licensed, and qualifed. 
Orthodontists are licensed by 
the Dental Board of California 
(Board), and you can check the 

status of a license on the Board’s 
website, www.dbc.ca.gov. 
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REPOSSESSED 

Dealing With the Repo Man 

 Falling behind on car payments, possibly due to losing a job or unforeseen medical 
expenses, may put you in the position of facing repossession. 

Many of the activities before, during, and after repossession are regulated by state and federal 
laws, with the Department of Consumer Afairs’ Bureau of Security and Investigative Services 
(BSIS) overseeing repossession agencies and employees statewide. Consumers should be aware of 
several factors if their vehicle is repossessed: 

A repossession agent can repossess your vehicle whether or not you’re present. 

A repossession agent cannot enter private property or a locked, enclosed area without the 
consent of the property owner or a lessor/renter of an owner to repossess a vehicle. 

Consumers have a right to request proof that the individual carrying out the repossession is 
licensed as a repossession agency, qualifed manager, or agent. 

A repossession agent is not required to allow a consumer to remove personal property from 
the vehicle at the time of repossession. However, it is not prohibited—consumers should 
ask to remove their personal property from the vehicle. In addition, the repossession agent 
must inventory all personal items found in the vehicle and store the personal property for a 
minimum of 60 days. 

A repossession agency can discard any personal items not claimed after 60 days, but must 
keep the inventory list along with information on how the items were disposed of on fle for 
four years. 
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A repossession agency must provide you with a notice—usually within 48 hours, but in all cases no 
less than 96 hours after the repossession takes place—by mail or personal service, which includes: 

s The name, address, and phone number of the vehicle’s legal owner. 

s The name, address, and phone number of the repossession agency. 

s Statements and disclosures required by law about licensure requirements for 
repossession agencies and their employees, timeframes in which the notice is required 
to be provided, damage to the vehicle during repossession, and if applicable, information 
about the handling of special license plates. 

s Storage charges for personal property. 

Ask to see the repossesors license. 
It should look like this. 

In some cases, a bank, fnancial lender, or other legal owner will send their own 
employees to recover the vehicle. These employees are not mandated to be 
licensed as repossession agency employees. 

A licensed repossession agency must display its license number or its business 
name, address, and phone number on both sides of its tow vehicle. Also, a licensed 
repossession agent must notify local law enforcement within one hour of repossessing 
a vehicle. If contact is not made, continued attempts are required until the 
repossession is recorded with the local agency. Written notice to local law 
enforcement must also be made within one business day of the repossession. 

BSIS has no jurisdiction over whether the vehicle’s legal owner will reinstate a 
consumer’s vehicle contract. For reinstatement, consumers need to provide the 
repossession agency a release from the legal owner stating that the consumer 
can redeem the vehicle, and show proof of having paid the administrative 
fling fee ($15–$20) to the police or sherif’s ofce where the repossession 
was reported. 

While the vast majority of repossession cases involve vehicles, any 
personal property subject to a security agreement—furniture, 
appliances, jewelry, etc.—can be repossessed. 

To verify a repossession agency license or employee registration, 
visit www.breeze.ca.gov and click on “Verify a License.” 
Complaints against a repossession agency or employee can 
also be made at www.breeze.ca.gov by clicking on “File a 
Complaint.” 

http://www.breeze.ca.gov
http://www.breeze.ca.gov


            

  
 

 

 
 
 

 

 
  

 
 

 

 
 

 
  

   

DCA’s New Consumer 
Publications 

All of the following new publications are available online. For printed copies to be mailed out at no charge, call the Publications 

Hotline at (866) 320-8652 and leave your name and mailing address and the name of the publication you would like mailed. 

Orders can also be placed online at www.dca.ca.gov/publications/publications_list.pdf. 

From the California Bureau of Real Estate 

California Department of Consumer Affairs |  Summer 2016 

Consumer Recovery Account 

http://bre.ca.gov/fles/pdf/re3.pdf 

The newly updated Consumer Recovery Account brochure outlines how a person who was defrauded by 
a real estate licensee in a transaction requiring a license and who satisfes specifc requirements can 
recover all or a portion of his or her loss when the licensee lacks personal assets to pay for the loss. It 
details the requirements a consumer must meet as well as how to fle an application for payment. 

Using the Services of a Mortgage Broker 

www.dre.ca.gov/fles/pdf/re35a.pdf 

This 36-page revised booklet covers a wide range of topics for consumers relating to mortgage 
brokers. Among the topics covered are commissions and lender fees; defning points, a yield 
spread premium, and loan lock; a detailed overview of the loan process; paying off a balloon 
payment loan; and how to decide the length of a loan term. It also features cautionary advice 
about avoiding predatory lending and the importance of knowing what you can afford. 

Living in a California Common Interest Development 

http://www.dre.ca.gov/fles/pdf/re39.pdf 

This booklet provides general information in response to some of the more frequently asked 
questions regarding living in a common interest development—such as single-family detached 
housing communities, townhomes, and multistory high rises. It discusses Covenants, Conditions, 
and Restrictions (CC&Rs); governing bylaws; homeowners associations; and the responsibilities of 
a board of directors. 

28 

http://bre.ca.gov/files/pdf/re3.pdf
www.dca.ca.gov/publications/publications_list.pdf
www.dca.ca.gov/publications/publications_list.pdf
http://www.dre.ca.gov/files/pdf/re39.pdf


                     

 

 
  

  
 

 

 
  

 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 

From the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians 

Protecting California’s Healthcare Consumers 

http://bvnpt.ca.gov/pdf/protecting_consumers.pdf 

The Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians’ (BVNPT’s) new 
brochure discusses how the Board sets educational standards, licenses 
applicants, and takes legal action against behaviors that put patients at risk. 
Learn also about how the more than 130,000 VNs and 15,000 PTs in the 
State provide services in a variety of healthcare settings, including skilled 
nursing, residential mental health, and residential care facilities. 

Enforcement Division 

http://bvnpt.ca.gov/pdf/enforcement_division.pdf 

If you feel your VN or PT acted in an unsafe or unprofessional manner, BVNPT’s 
Enforcement Division may be able to help. BVNPT’s new publication gives 
important information about the enforcement process and potential outcomes 
of disciplinary actions. 

Consumer Protection and the Enforcement Program 

http://bvnpt.ca.gov/pdf/consumer_protection.pdf 

Understand your rights when it comes to the healthcare services provided by 
VNs and PTs. This new BVNPT publication also details its complaint process and 
the different types of violations for which VNs and PTs may be disciplined. 
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