California State Athletic Commission Members

Chair: John Carvelli

Vice Chair: Mary Lehman

Commissioner: Martha Shen-Urquidez

Commissioner: Vernon Williams

Commissioner: Van Gordon Sauter

Commissioner: Luis Ayala

Commissioner: James Araby

Executive Officer: Andy Foster

John Carvelli, Chair: Mr. Carvelli is a Director and Executive Vice President of LIBERTY Dental Plan Corporation, a national dental managed care organization, since 2004. He has a great deal of experience in healthcare finance and regulatory matters. He has served as a board member of "Team 100 Food for Kids" Board since 2011 and currently serves on the "Parents Television Council" Advisory Board since 1995. John is an avid sports fan. He played college football and has coached girls soccer for over 10 years.

Mary Lehman, Vice-chair: Ms. Lehman has been a civil appeals attorney at the Law Offices of Mary A. Lehman since 1995. She was an attorney with Gray Cary Ware and Freidenrich LLP from 1991 to 2002. She was a professional boxer from 1999 to 2002, ranking as high as number nine in the world for her weight class. Lehman earned a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of San Diego School of Law.

Martha Shen-Urquidez, Commissioner: Ms. Shen-Urquidez has been CEO of USAsia since 2007. She was cross-cultural affairs expert for the Beijing Olympics Organization from 2006 to 2008, senior protocol officer with the California South Bay Economic Development Partnership from 1994 to 2001 and court appointed arbitrator at the Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles from 1994 to 1999. Shen-Urquidez was a judge pro tem for Los Angeles County from 1994 to 1998, attorney and training expert with multiple police departments in Southern California from 1989 to 2004 and an attorney in private practice from 1986 to 2005. She served as a credentialed boxing judge from 2000 to 2001. Shen-Urquidez earned a Juris Doctorate degree from Whittier Law School.

Vernon Williams, Commissioner: Dr. Williams completed his neurology residency at The University of Maryland in Baltimore, MD and is board certified by the American Association of Psychiatry and Neurology. After residency he completed a multidisciplinary, interventional pain fellowship in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care (Division of Pain Medicine) at Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, MD. Dr. Williams joined the Kerlan-Jobe Orthopedic Clinic in Los Angeles in 1997. At Kerlan-Jobe, he is a consulting Team Physician for the Los Angeles Lakers, Dodgers, Kings, Sparks, KISS, Anaheim Ducks, and several southern California collegiate, high school, and elite club athletic programs. He is the Founding Director of The Center for Sports Neurology and Pain Medicine at the Kerlan-Jobe. He is also the Founding Director of the Sports Neurology Fellowship at Kerlan-Jobe and serves as Chief Medical Officer of the Sports Concussion Institute. Dr. Williams is an active educator on issues related to Sports Neurology and Concussion. He is the Chair of the American Academy of Neurology Sports Neurology Section. He often serves as an expert consultant on Pain and Sports Neurologic Disorders to major television networks, radio, satellite, and print media.

Van Gordon Sauter, Commissioner: Mr. Sauter is a retired journalist and executive who served as president of CBS Sports and CBS News and as executive vice president of CBS Broadcasting. He was a television anchorman in Chicago, Paris bureau chief of CBS News and a reporter for newspapers in Chicago and Detroit. He has written three books and is currently working on a photo text book about The Sunset Strip. He lives in Los Angeles and Ketchum, Idaho. He is an avid fly fisherman.

Luis Ayala, Commissioner: Mr. Ayala is President of AMG Consulting, which provides professional services in external affairs and public affairs, community outreach, project management and policy analysis for private and public sector clients. Mr. Ayala has 17 years of experience in Public Policy at the Federal, State and Local Governments and currently serves as Mayor of Alhambra, CA. Mr. Ayala played College Football and has coached soccer for 6 seasons in the American Youth Soccer Organization.

James Araby, Commissioner:  After graduating from college in 2001, James Araby began his work in the labor movement, starting as an organizer at SEIU and moving on to the California Federation of Teachers, as Political Field Director he worked on two statewide ballot initiatives in 2010 and 2012.  For the past five years, Mr. Araby has worked for the United Food and Commercial Workers International Union (UFCW) as Executive Director of the Western States Council.  In addition to the work for the UFCW, Mr. Araby serves on the board of directors of CORO Northern California, Consumer Federation of California, advisory board for the technology company Organizer and is an appointee on the Contra Costa Workforce Investment Board.

Andy Foster, Executive Officer: Mr. Foster serves the Commission as Executive Officer. Previously, Mr. Foster served as Executive Director of the Georgia Athletic and Entertainment Commission and also as Regional Director of the Southeastern United States for the Association of Boxing Commissions. Before his appointment as a regulator, Mr. Foster served as the head mixed martial arts (MMA) referee for the Georgia Commission, officiating hundreds of bouts in both professional and amateur rule sets. Mr. Foster has also competed in professional MMA, amateur MMA, amateur boxing, amateur kickboxing, and amateur sport grappling. In addition, Mr. Foster instructed martial arts between 2002-2008 and trained many martial artists. Mr. Foster currently serves in the Association of Boxing Commissions as Chairman of the Unified Amateur Mixed Martial Arts Rules Committee, Chairman of the Governmental Affairs Committee, and member of the Professional Mixed Martial Arts Rules Committee, Boxing and MMA Matchmaking Committee, MMA Judging Committee, and MMA Training Committee. Mr. Foster attended the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies at Georgia State University and graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Public Policy.